Skip to Content

Emeritus Faculty

Many of our former faculty members continue to contribute to academic life at DU. Learn more about the mathematicians who help build our department.

Richard N. Ball

Professor Emeritus
PhD 1974 (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Office: C.M. Knudson Hall 205A
Email: rball@du.edu 
Website 
Phone: 303-871-3294

Research interest: Algebra and topology, combinatorics, topological dynamics, stability and complexity.

Joel S. Cohen

Professor Emeritus
PhD 1970 (University of Maryland)
Email: jscohen@du.edu 
Website 
Phone: 303-871-3292

Research interest: Computer algebra and symbolic computation, mathematics and music, history of mathematics.

William S. Dorn

Professor Emeritus
PhD 1955 (Carnegie Institute of Technology)
Email: wdorn@cs.du.edu 

Research interest: Mathematics for humanities and social science students, preparing science student for entrance into the 'real world', writing in mathematics/computing courses, simplifying web site design, handicapped access to web sites.

Stanley Gudder

John Evans Professor Emeritus
PhD 1964 (University of Illinois)
Office: C.M. Knudson Hall 207A
Email: sgudder@du.edu 
Website 
Phone: 303-871-3599

Research interest: Functional analysis, mathematical physics, foundations of quantum mechanics, probability theory.

James N. Hagler

Professor Emeritus
PhD 1972 (University of California, Berkeley)
Office: C.M. Knudson Hall TBA
Email: jhagler@math.du.edu 
Website 
Phone: 303-871-3310

Research interest: Functional analysis, topological dynamics, hereditarily indecomposable continua.

Jean-Paul Marchand

Professor Emeritus
PhD (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Geneva)

Alayne Parson

Professor Emerita
PhD (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Email: alayne.parson@gmail.com 
Research interest: Automorphic functions, complex analysis, number theory.

Ottis W. Rechard

Professor Emeritus
PhD 1948 (University of Wisconsin)
Email: orechard@cs.du.edu 

Research interest: Computer systems, algorithms, numerical analysis.